Oct 012012
 

When author and friend, Melissa Foster, a frequent visitor here at CMash Reads, asks to showcase a fellow author, I always honor that request.  So today, we get to meet one of her peers as he stops by and visits.  So without further ado, Mr. Russell Blake!!

RUSSELL BLAKE 

Russell Blake is the acclaimed author of Fatal ExchangeThe Geronimo BreachZero Sum,The Delphi Chronicle trilogyNight of the AssassinKing of SwordsRevenge of the Assassin,Return of the AssassinThe Voynich CypherAn Angel With FurHow To Sell A Gazillion eBooks In No Time (even if drunk, high or incarcerated), Silver Justice and JET. He lives on the Pacific coast of Mexico and enjoys his dogs, writing, tequila and battling world domination by clowns. His thoughts, such as they are, can be found at his blog:http://RussellBlake.com  Follow Russell on Twitter: @Blakebooks

GUEST POST

JET – A Different Kind of Action Hero

 Thanks for having me – it’s a sincere pleasure.

I’m so excited about my new series, JET. I really can’t say enough about it. I am launching two books on Oct. 5 – JET, and JET II – Betrayal. Both are full-length novels, and feature the trials and tribulations of Jet, the twenty-eight year old ex-Mossad operative who faked her own death to get out of that life, but whose life has come back to haunt her in a big and ugly way.

Jet is a different kind of novel for me. It was inspired by a few simple ideas. First, I got to thinking, “Wouldn’t it be cool to write a female action lead that was a kind of a cross between James Bond and Jack Bauer, from 24?” From that, I next went to, “And wouldn’t it be even cooler if the books started with lightning action, and then accelerated from there? Like a literary version of a film like Kill Bill?”

That was the idea – a larger-than-life, overblown female heroine who kicked #ss and took no prisoners, but who did so reluctantly – she’d tried to end that existence, but then enemies from her past came after her, forcing her to put everything on the line.

I sort of had a mental image of Kate B in Underworld, but half Japanese, half Dominican – born in Israel, of those two ethnicities, but left a ward of the state early on. I wanted her to have had a painful, horrific past that she triumphed against, emerging stronger. That is sort of a recurring theme in the JET books. She’s like a Phoenix, rising from the ashes, and no matter what gets thrown at her, she comes through it better for the experience.

What’s truly exciting for me about the series is that, for whatever reason, it’s not just a shoot-em-up romp, although there’s enough of that to fill 10 books. No, what happened is that the writing turned out to be almost, and I hesitate to say this, literary fiction. Which was unintentional, but just what happened. So we have this Lamborghini on black ice, out of control roller-coaster of a book, with unexpected characterization, description and prose. I know it sounds odd, but I think it works pretty well. I honestly can’t think of another book like it. And with the number out there, that says something – either that I don’t read much, or that this is truly something different.

I think fans who are a little tired of the genre, and who think they’ve seen everything, should give JET a whirl. I think it will surprise at a number of levels. I know the character is overblown, but she’s overblown in an unapologetic way that is ultimately endearing – at least to me. It’s rare when I get done with a book and can’t wait to write the next one, but JET had that effect on me, so I immediately wrote JET II, which releases the same day. That’s unusual as well, but I don’t want readers to have to wait to find out what happens next, and the words were just waiting, so I figured might as well get em down on paper.

Thanks so much for the opportunity to come on and chat. I think my final thought would be that if you’ve never read anything by me before, just read JET. If you want to know what makes a Russell Blake book different, read JET, and there won’t be any more questions.

I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did writing it.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Jet. The code name of an ex-Mossad operative who faked her own death to get out of the game – but whose brutal past has come back to haunt her. When her new life on a tranquil island is shattered by an assassination team targeting her for execution, Jet must return to a savage life she’d thought she’d buried forever to save herself and those she loves. A gritty, unflinching roller-coaster of unexpected twists and shocking turns, Jet features a new kind of protagonist that breaks the mold. Fans of Lizbeth Sanders, SALT or the Bourne trilogy will find themselves carried along at Lamborghini speed by a story whose conclusion is as jarring and surprising as its heroine is unconventional.

DISCLAIMER
No items that I receive
are ever sold…they are kept by me,
or given to family and/or friends.

Related Articles:

Leave a Reply