Jan 302019
 

THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL by Christina McDonald
Genre: Thriller/Women’s Fiction
Published by Gallery Books
Publication Date: February 5, 2019
ISBN-10: 1501184008
ISBN-13: 978-1501184000
Pages: 368
Review Copy From: Gallery Books via NetGalley
Edition: eBook
My Rating: 5

Synopsis (via GR)

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

My Thoughts


I belong to a few FB groups for book lovers and after seeing so many great things said about this book, I had to read it and see what the buzz was all about. And for those that recommended it, a BIG thank you!

This doesn’t happen often with me but this book was SO good that I read it in one day!

Abi Knight gets the phone call that every mother fears. There has been an accident and her daughter Olivia is at the hospital. How could this be? Abi, who is a single parent has taken every precaution to safeguard her daughter’s well being, some would even say including Olivia, to the point of being overprotective.

When Abi gets to the hospital, her nightmare begins. Not only is Olivia brain dead but she is also pregnant. Can’t be!! Olivia is a good student, has many friends, and never drank nor did drugs. And in Washington, life support can’t be turned off when a woman is pregnant.

The police aren’t investigating because they have ruled Olivia falling to her death at the ZigZag Bridge to be a tragic accident. But Abi notices that Olivia has bruises on her wrist that resemble finger marks. She doesn’t accept this as an accident but foul play and she needs to find out the truth.

The story alternates from 6 months prior to the accident and to the present day.

Not only was this a suspenseful read from beginning to end, it was also very emotional. The author’s writing style will have you feeling every emotion that Abi is dealing with. I thought I had it all figured out when I was 1/3 into the book, but not even close! I could not put this book down!

Love, lies, betrayals, secrets, pain, guilt and a mother’s need to know to be able to say goodbye.

A captivating read!!

Purchase Links: Amazon 🔗 | Barnes & Noble 🔗 | Goodreads 🔗

REVIEW DISCLAIMER

  • This blog was founded on the premise to write honest reviews, to the best of my ability, no matter who from, where from and/or how the book was obtained, and will continue to do so, even if it is through PICT or PBP.
  • I received a copy of this book, at no charge to me, in exchange for my honest review. No items that I receive are ever sold…they are kept by me, or given to family and/or friends.
  • I do not have any affiliation with Amazon.com or Barnes & Noble. I am providing link(s) solely for visitors that may be interested in purchasing this Book/EBook.
  • Related Articles:

      One Response to “Review | THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL by Christina McDonald”

    1. This sounds like a great book, I would love to read it! =)

      Mary

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.